the simple minded suburbanite


Required Summer Reading
July 27, 2011, 1:29 pm
Filed under: voluntary simplicity | Tags: ,

School starts in two weeks and I am scrambling to read my required summer reading.  “I think I read that in highschool,” doesn’t apply to me. 20 some odd years back, I went to a po-dunk high school and read next to nothing.  Which is fine, as it seems much literary meaning was lost to people who read at that age (not that it was not valuable) and many follow the first phrase with, “I should read that again.”

So, as the summer blazes on, I find it appropriate to read Fahrenheit 451.  Wowza!  If you read the 25th anniversary interview with Ray Bradbury first and know that he was making no political statements, rather, commenting on the education of our youth, you can leave your party affiliation at the door and enjoy the book for all of its nuances as well as straight forward insistances for us to wake up.  Written in 1953, it is just as, if not more, insightful than ever.

I’m a fan of quotes, as some may know.  So, though it doesn’t replace reading the book, I’d like to spend the next few posts quoting passages from the book that I think have particular relevance to the concept of voluntary simplicity.  Let me know what you think!  I love a good book discussion.

“‘I don’t know.  We have everything we need to be happy, but we aren’t happy.  Something’s missing…(Montag to Faber)…I looked around.  The only thing I positively knew was missing was the books I’d burned in ten or twelve years.  So I thought books might help.’

‘You’re a hopeless romantic,’ said Faber,  ‘It would be funny if it were not serious.  It’s not books you need, it’s some of the things that once were in books…No, no, it’s not books at all you’re looking for!  Take it whre you can find it, in old phongraph records, old motion pictures, and in old friends;  Look for it in nature and look for it in yourself.  There is nothing magical in (books) at all.  The  magic is only in what boods say, how they stitched patches of the universe togehter into one garment for us…You are intuitively right, that’s what counts.  Three things are missing.”

And those three things will follow in upcoming posts.  What “books” are you looking into to find answers, hope, happiness, inspiration?  Food?  Furniture?  Shoes?  And what are the three things these “books” contain for you, better, where in yourself, your friends, in art, and in nature can you find it?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

