the simple minded suburbanite


Just What I Needed on a Tuesday Morning
April 26, 2011, 12:29 pm
Filed under: authenticity, collaboratation, culture, voluntary simplicity | Tags: ,

I try not to check my email first thing in the morning. It’s usually a sure-fire way of assuring pre-mature panic (see my post months ago about email craziness).  But this morning, after reading Flannery O’Connor for a few minutes, I decided to check my inbox.  This link was sent to me by a friend.  It’s inspiring and reminded me not to spend the morning cleaning out the coat closet or laundering the dog’s pillow but to get out and do what I am being called to do.  I feel like the world is changing. People are sharing, inspiring, acting.  And I’m being drawn to it.  To all of my “I am an island” neighbors, falsy wearing Tom’s though they could really give a shit who else in the world has shoes, who are buying tickets to Atlas Shrugged, “I’ll be there to help you blow off the dust when you find yourself left in it!”

http://tedxcmu.com/videos/amber-rae

No, I won’t be meeting you for lunch today.  And no, I won’t be volunteering jockying for the PTA.  I’ll be out setting my world on fire.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

