the simple minded suburbanite


Jeez. Just Some Fresh Meat, Please…
November 20, 2010, 5:28 pm
Filed under: nutrition, suburbanite, voluntary simplicity

Uber.  That’s the burbs.  This is one example of about 20 different emails I have recieved as my neighborhood is trying to connect with local farmers in order to buy fresh veggies, grass-fed meat, eggs, milk.  Damn!  Can I just get a friggin’ tomato, please?!!!  The names have been changed to protect the compulsive!

“Hi.
I know you all probably think I have nothing better to do with my time than bug you all and think about my food.  But this has been weighing on my mind for a while and I feel so good about YYY that I want to feel this good about my produce, too.  I just had a long talk with XXX at YYY and wanted to share some of the conversation with you.
First of all, regarding the meat buying club.  She said that regarding delivery logistics that she never wants the person whose drop point is at to feel that they have to store others orders, pay for them, etc.  So what she does is say she is coming at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, she will be there for 1 hour with our orders in her freezer and we will have until 2 p.m. to come to her, pay her in person and go home with our meat.  If we can’t make it for some reason, she will take the order home and we will miss out.  I suppose she won’t have a problem with someone else picking up for someone else if we have arranged that between ourselves.  She did stress though that whoever’s home will be the pick up point that person will not be put out in anyway except offering up the spot.  Suzie, if you feel that you’d rather me do it because of the cul-de-sac, I am fine doing it.  Otherwise, I am happy to pick up at your place.
Also, she said on a monthly basis, she will have eggs for us and that they will last for 45 days.  There was an issue last week with BBB in that AAA and I assumed our eggs would have come from YYY and they weren’t (I hope we weren’t charged the YYY price, by the way).  She seemed to think that AAA and CCC probably got them through their wholesale grower, which I have a problem with.  That leads me to my next piece of information:
I am not feeling great about BBB in that I know that they have a commercial contract and therefore wholesale suppliers.  I asked XXX how well she knew them and what their practices are.  She said whatever they are growing on their farm is grown naturally (although not Certified Naturally Grown or Organic) but have not been grown from CNG seeds.  I told her that they are including in our basket things that are not grown from them but they are claiming is coming from other regional farms.  I asked if she would trust that they are buying those things from naturally grown growers-she said probably not.  She does have a good relationship with them in that they have known each other for years but I got the impression that they are in it to make a living and XXX, although is definitely trying to make a living doing this, simply loves to do it and wants the best for everyone.  I truly believe that the DDDD’s heart is in the right place but that they are caught in that trap of earning money and doing the right thing.  For that reason, I want to take the bull by the horns with the DDDD at this point and let them know that I would like for her to clarify in her weekly emails what, of their weekly offering, is naturally grown or organic.  I know to be certified either naturally grown or organic is expensive but it should be something to strive for.  XXX also let me know that there are several farmers that she knows of that do offer their own certified naturally grown products that she would love to refer us to.  I just don’t know that we are going to get that variety and convenience of delivery that we have with BBB.  I think the first step would be for us to let her know what our priorities are and that we would like to have them clarified on her offerings so we can decide from there.  What are your thoughts on that?
So, I guess the point of that is if we want to get YYY eggs, then we should just order them through YYY with our monthly order.”

Yada, yada, yada…Grade B raw milk vs Grade A, Local vs Regional, Organic vs Certified, and so on, and so on….

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

