the simple minded suburbanite


A Million Bucks
September 20, 2010, 1:38 pm
Filed under: suburban

More than the almighty buck, I chase sleep. The thought of it hovers above my head as I wearily dunk my tea bag into the nearly boiling cup of water. It’s longing cloaks me every afternoon but, I deny it, pushing through another deadline, another task, another weary smile. At night, I post pone it thinking, it’s insane to lay down only minutes after the little ones click off their flashlights and close their books. Sleep. Rest. Rejuvination. It’s free. It’s a readily available resource, so why do I resist it until the point that I am so lacking that when I finally rest my cheek, still caked with the day’s makeup, on my pillow it alludes me? My mind so conditioned to push through the urge to rest it won’t allow me. When I’m blue, I have a tendancy to want to sleep the day away, perhaps one of the reasons I resist sleep so. But, won’t dishonoring your body and spiritual needs lead to a dark place, as well?
So last night I slept. At 7pm I lay on the couch unable to keep my lids from falling. I fought it for an hour, then, once the kids were bathed and in bed, I hit the sheets…and slept until 8am this morning. Soundly. And I feel like a million bucks! So keep your riches, I for one would trade it all for a good night’s sleep!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

