the simple minded suburbanite


Join the Club
August 19, 2010, 11:37 am
Filed under: culture, nutrition, suburban, voluntary simplicity

I can’t have any friends unless they are in one of my clubs.  My book club.  My writing club.  Now I’m in a Health and Nutrition Club and we met last night.  Our objective: eat better.

We read Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan and I devoured it (pardon the pun).  I mean it, like in two days.  Being from the Midwest I was floored about all of the evils of corn!  And someone brought up the angry energy a human ingests when eating those angry chickens that never see sunlight!  (This I laughed a bit about.  Angry chickens?  Though I do believe in energy and how that affects the world.  If nothing else, what does cramming thousands of animals in a pen in their own poopy say about our culture?)

Anyway, one question posed to the group was, “What small step will you take between this meeting and the next?”  Me?  Definitely more grass-fed meat as well as eating less of it.  Don’t know if it is true but someone (was it Michael?) said that if each American family would take on meal based around meat and replace it with a vegetarian option a week, it would be the environmental equivalent of taking 5 million cars off the road.

If you read Omnivore’s Dilemma, you’ll understand why.  If you do and you start making small changes, or even big ones, about how your family eats, let me know what they are.

The good thing about clubs is, they inspire and educate you.  Oh, and you might even fenagle some organic wine!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

