the simple minded suburbanite


Mending. Ugg
March 19, 2010, 3:05 pm
Filed under: budget | Tags: , ,

It’s true.  I hate to mend.  I hate to hem.  I get frustrated when things break and I’ve got to fix them.  And many, if not most times, I don’t.  After reading this article from a cool, progressive publication Utne (utne.com), I am inspired.  Yes, we have to get back to purchasing things that last and make a commitment to fix things that break, not throw them away or replace them with new things that fill up landfills.  I do this in a small way.  I never throw out jewlry or scarves. They always come back in style.  But, I need to get much better.  I REALLY need to mend the hole in my husband’s pants pocket.

Let me know what you think about this new/old idea of Heirloom Designers and Slow Consumption.  http://www.utne.com/Environment/Slow-Consumption-Heirloom-Design.aspx

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

