the simple minded suburbanite


I’m Grounded
December 15, 2009, 3:49 pm
Filed under: suburbs, voluntary simplicity | Tags:

Thank God!  I’ve had sick kids home with me since last Wednesday. 5 whole days smack dab in the middle of the busiest season of all.  I’ve got gifts to buy for the fencing teacher, the music teacher, the basketball coaches, the neighbors, etc.., etc.., etc… 

Wait a minute!  No I don’t.  I don’t have to. A plate of cookies or a card or maybe I can put some of that homemade vamilla my mother-in-law gave me in those little bottles I have left over from my wedding, tie them with ribbon and throw in some of those countless Christmas cookie cutters in a bag and viola!  Or maybe, or maybe just “Hey!  Happy holidays!”  A smile and a wave.

Instead, a game of mancala with my middle boy now that he is done puking.  And clean off my back steps.  And re-wind the lights on my mantle that have gone out and finish “A Streetcar Named Desire”…oh yeah!  An afternoon with a young Marlon Brando!  Hubba!  Hubba!  Eh-hem, remember my eight-year-old is home with me today!

Ah, yes!  The beauty of crossing off to-do items off my holiday to-do list without ever having done them!  How very naughty!  And how very nice!

No wonder I’m grounded!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

How naughty…..how nice….but most of all, how SANE.

Bravo!

Comment by Gina




Leave a Reply

